Testimonials

ForgetTheGym_10milerheader

Here is what our students have to say……

Grab a chair and a cuppa tea. We have hundreds of reviews for you.

We also have a full section on our blog with Inspiring Success Stories.

This page is a good starting point and gives you a taster of what our students think…

Beginners ‘Learn to Run’ Class : I have just finished the Forget the Gym Learn to Run class and ran my 30 minutes twice to believe it was real! It’s such a big personal accomplishment for me that it reminds me of passing my driving test. Mary and her team have motivated me every step of the way with no scary stuff or punishing regimes – just purely made me feel I had it in me. So if you’re thinking about learning to run . . . do it and join the gang of us who thought we couldn’t and did. (Nickie)


BeachFit Classes : Forget the Gym is simply the business! Especially for a girl like me who knows how good it feels after a good workout, but has a few lazybones that need to be motivated every now and again. It’s great to be part of a group, yet not be intimidated by the level of others within that group. Mary sees to that, giving a little push to those of us that need it, yet making the new runners confident about their own level, and ultimately ensuring that everyone improves week on week. (Jenny)


Running Classes: I’ve tried a lot over the years and there is one thing I can say with certainty, you will not find a better team of people to help you on your way to fitness than the ForgetTheGym coaches. I know I can’t say they’ve changed my life, or they’ve run my races as they haven’t. I have. But they’ve guided, pushed, pulled, shouted, encouraged and supported me to become a runner. Go on, let them do the same for you! Read Deirdre’s Full Story (Deirdre)


Running Workshops : I Loved the 10K workshop. You gave me confidence in myself and plenty of tips for everything from race prep and the motivation to keep going, to lining up at the start line for my very first race. I am now looking forward to race day and I would recommend the workshop to anyone. Thank you! (Mandy)


Marathon Coaching : Anybody thinking of doing the marathon I’d definitely recommend the Marathon Training workshops. I did it last year and was the best thing I did since starting to run early last year. Mary’s help and experience gave me the confidence I needed for the marathon and I’m currently training for marathon Number 3 all thanks to the advice and support I received. Best of luck to all the students I know you’ll be in good hands and on the way to that 26.2mile dream!! (David)


ChiRunning Technique :Thanks for a very informative ChiRunning workshop. I enjoyed it immensely. The structure of it was great in that once you went through the theory; you got a chance to put it into practice immediately. I will certainly be recommending you to my clients who are runners. (Aisling, Neuromuscular Therapist)


Corporate/Club Workshops: I would recommend Forget The Gym to any organisation for a person centred service to staff in the area of health and well being. We found that the personalised service was refreshing and exciting as when we started planning for the day we found that many of the ‘staff health and well being’ packages were very business oriented or that nutritionists were too clinical. Mary provided a fun, interactive approach and it went down a storm. Many thanks for a job well done!(Caroline, KARE)


Online – Get Running Programme : I started running with you with the Irish Times in January and have done 2 5k’s and am training for the 10k. Was in Spain last week and went out running 3 times in the sun and felt so great it was unbelievable! My boyfriend couldn’t get over it. I think I am a runner now. I could not recommend your programme highly enough. I really love doing it and feel so much better. If people only realised how good they could feel! Thanks again. (Julie)




More Reviews of Beginners Running Classes

Jenny : I thought I would never run, I thought I couldn’t. Like many women I went through phases of going to the gym working out and then falling back into old habits. With ForgettheGym.ie, I enjoy every minute of the class. I love the confidence I have gained from Mary’s encouragement and the support of the other girls. The runs get longer and before you know it you can run 30 min nonstop. It is the first time I have ever kept something up on my own after a class. It is great! Even more amazingly I miss it when I do not get out for my run.


Teresa : Before I joined Mary & her team I couldn’t run for more than 1 minute without getting a stitch. After 8 weeks I can now run for 30 minutes continuously – and I’m still amazed and stunned ,but obviously proud. The team have fantastic people skills and push you without you even realising it. What has impressed me most about Forget the Gym is the continuous ‘aftercare’ – weekly e-mails with extra support and motivation, tips regarding all areas of fitness and nutrition and knowing that they are truly passionate about what they do. What I really loved was that everyone was made feel special (unlike some clubs who are only interested in the ‘fit’ people) and treated exactly the same. I have since signed up to do Improver’s Class to improve my 5k and maybe run a 10k, but most importantly because I would miss the fun and the friendship of the group.


Deirdre : I’ve tried a lot over the years and there is one thing I can say with certainty, you will not find a better team of people to help you on your way to fitness. I know I can’t say they’ve changed my life, or they’ve run my races as they haven’t. I have. But they’ve guided, pushed, pulled, shouted, encouraged and supported me to become a runner. Go on, let them do the same for you! Read Deirdre’s Full Story


Kate: Since joining ForgetTheGym running classes, I really enjoy exercising and feel so much more confident in going out for a run by myself, something I wouldn’t have done before starting. I was nervous at first but I’m amazed at how easy Mary and the team have made it feel to go from 1 minute running up to my first 10km run!! I really enjoy the outdoor classes and running with a relaxed group makes exercising feel like fun!


Nickie: I have just finished the Forget the Gym Learn to Run class and ran my 30 minutes twice to believe it was real! It’s such a big personal accomplishment for me that it reminds me of passing my driving test. Mary and her team have motivated me every step of the way with no scary stuff or punishing regimes – just purely made me feel I had it in me. Far from limping through the Learn to Run 8 weeks as I thought I’ve now started the level 1 improvers running. So if you’re thinking about learning to run . . . do it and join the gang of us who thought we couldn’t and did.


Lorna: The running classes have helped me to enjoy exercise (something i never thought possible) and also found it a great way to meet people after just moving to dublin! I now have a great running buddy and am a bit hooked on running!! Thanks!


Marion: Thank you so much for a great eight weeks. I am really looking forward to starting the improvers class on Monday. I did not think eight weeks ago that I would feel so confident when out running. There is a great social atmosphere in the classes. I never thought I would be able to run comfortably for 30 minutes, never mind signing up to the Beaujolais run in France in November!!


Rachel : Just a note to say I loved every minute of the class and found out how to actually enjoy running rather than seeing it as a chore! You and your team have been brilliant, and you made every new target feel achievable. I can’t wait for the next term!


Sharon: Thank you so much for a wonderful eight weeks. I was so nervous starting the class. I was terrified that I would be so far behind everyone and not able to keep up. After the first class I knew I need not have worried, everyone felt the same. I didnt give up but stayed and enjoyed every minute of each of the classes. I really enjoyed the chat and the laughs with all the girls I ran with along the way and of course the instructors too! I really thought I just wasnt able to run and this week I have been out 3 times for a 30 minute run! I love it and I am looking forward to the improvers class.


Marie: Mary is my guru, i don’t know how she remains so personally invested in each of her people and she has such a way of encouraging you that you never want to disappoint her and you get out of bed in the morning as much for this, as for yourself. My primary goal when starting was to lose weight and tone up, i somehow lost sight of that as time went on and my focus became about ‘how much further can i run today’…and along the way, i lost weight, toned up and seriously and unashamedly can admit, have never looked or felt better. Although be warned, if like me, you use the ‘I’m just not built for running’ line…it will be shot down! Thanks Mary, I owe you!


Amanda and Deirbhle: Thanks a million for everything over the past eight weeks. We really enjoyed the classes, it’s the first thing that we have stuck for the full eight weeks! Normally by week three or four we have found a list of excuses not to go.
Sinead : So glad I found Mary and ForgetTheGym.ie. I never thought I’d be able for a run but I was proved wrong.
I’m delighted that I now look forward to getting outside for exercise, I’ll never look back. Thanks Mary.


Olivia: Just wanted to say I really enjoyed the beginners course and so far am loving the next level of Improvers Running.


Leesa : For my New Year’s Resolution, I promised myself that I would get out and start exercising a bit more. I didn’t want to join a gym and was looking to find somewhere were I could “learn how to jog”. I registered for the beginners jogging 8 week class with Mary / ForgetTheGym.ie at the start of February 2011. I was so proud that at the end of the 8 weeks with Mary’s encouragement and the rest of the girls in the class that I could actually jog for the 30 mins that she had promised at the start of the 8 week class.Since then I am now in the Improver’s Level 1 jogging course (Sandymount) together with BeachFit (Clontarf) and am really enjoying it, being out in the fresh air and making new friends. I have even signed up for a 8k fun run, which when making my New Year’s Resolution I never thought I would have done.
I want to thank Mary / ForgetTheGym.ie for changing my attitude to exercise and the fact that I now like jogging in whatever type of weather 🙂


Jenny: I thought I would never run, I thought I couldnt. Like many women I went through phases of going to the gym working out and then falling back into old habits. I went to the gym because I enjoyed the results not because I enjoyed the actual workout. With ForgettheGym.ie, I enjoy every minute of the class. I enjoy the confidence I have gained from Mary’s encouragement and the support of the other girls. The homework is manageable and it is a great feeling when you see the improvement. The runs get longer and before you know it you can run 15 min nonstop. Even more amazingly I miss it when I do not get out for my run. It is the first time I have ever kept something up on my own after a class. It is great!


Karen: I started running with Mary at the end of September 2010. I was barely able to run for the 1 min she started us with and could never visualise running for the 30 mins she promised at the end of the 8 weeks nevermind actually running a 5k race and finishing it! It’s a fantastic way to start running if you think, like I did, when I saw people running “oh fair play to them I’d never be able to run” but Mary taught us slowly but surely in the most fun way possible that we in fact can. I am absolutely delighted with my progress – the only thing holding me back now is the snow! Mary is a brilliant motivator and is encouraging to the end – if you are thinking of starting to run there is no better way – enjoy 🙂


Marie: Forget the Gym has completely changed my relationship with exercise. When i first began i was terrified by the thought of running. For me, running downhill was an effort. I’ll never forget Day 1 telling Mary i could run for approx 3 minutes at a push and being mortified by this admission. I felt completely and totally accepted for my coach potato status and something happened, which in my life i never ever thought would, i ran a mile, and then i ran 2 miles and before i know it I was signed up for the 10miler in Phoenix Park and what’s even stranger was that i was looking forward to it.Exercise has become integral to my routine now, i feel as though i could burst if i don’t get outside at least 3 times a week. Honest to goodness, once you become accustomed to exercising outdoors,there is no turning back, ever. I have wasted ALOT of money on gym memberships and classes over the years and this is the only thing i have ever stuck at. I love the variety in the classes,you never know what to expect,it’s fun and i look forward to going to each and every one.


Mel : I have been enjoying “Forget The Gym” beach classes for a year now, and for someone who never ran before, I can now run a 5k with easy and actually enjoy it. Try it you will be delighted with the results.


Maura: “Possibly for the first time in my life I am actually enjoying exercise, it is not something I feel I have to do, but rather something I want to do. I started out on week 1 with an idea I would like to be able to run for 30mins. I was starting from nothing and by week 8 I have exceeded my expectation and can jog (slowly) for 40minutes. I loved the challenges that Mary set out each week. At times they were difficult and it was hard to see progress but each week was challenging and it was not until I looked back over the weeks that I really realised how much progress I really had made. I think it is a great service, a really good motivational tool !!! ”


Suzanne :Running is now integral to my life and apart from keeping fit, sane and in shape, I have met some great people as a result of it. Thanks Mary for inspiring me to join the world of recreational runners!


Mary“As a complete beginner, I really enjoyed the programme and the introduction to running. I thought the customised training programme was great as it took account of my progress and always felt realistic and achievable.”


Katie: On numerous occasions I have wasted money on gym membership. The Sandymount Beach Class has changed my opinion of exercise – that it can be fun and that you can make the time to fit it into our busy lives. Mary is fantastic – always positive and encouraging and very motivational. The setting is also fantastic – I couldn’t recommend ‘Forget The Gym’ highly enough.

More Reviews of Improvers Running Classes


Deirdre : I have tried a lot over the years and there is one thing I can say with certainty, you will not find a better team of people to help you on your way to fitness. I know I can’t say they’ve changed my life, or they’ve run my races as they haven’t. I have. But they’ve guided, pushed, pulled, shouted, encouraged and supported me to become a runner. Go on, let them do the same for you! Read Deirdre’s Full Story


Teresa :What has impressed me most about Forget the Gym is the continuous ‘aftercare’ – weekly e-mails with extra support and motivation, tips regarding all areas of fitness and nutrition and knowing that they are truly passionate about what they do.What I really loved was that everyone was made feel special (unlike some clubs who are only interested in the ‘fit’ people) and treated exactly the same. I have since signed up to do Improver’s Class to improve my 5k and maybe run a 10k, but most importantly because I would miss the fun and the friendship of the group.


Aileen :What is so brilliant about ForgetTheGym.ie is the approach taken in every class. It is just regular people, all shapes and sizes and fitness levels, reconnecting with their own bodies in a gentle and positive way. Mary encourages you to push yourself, which gives you a sense of personal achievement. You feel good about yourself and what you have accomplished after each class. That feeling encourages you to try harder for yourself the next time and you soon realize that you do not have to rely on someone standing over you, pushing you, to get results. You can make it happen for yourself. No matter what state you have let yourself go to, your body can do it, it is just your head that has been stopping you! It is like a revelation! If Mary was on TV in America, she would be a billionaire!
It is incredible how you can turn around your fitness levels in just a few sessions and the knock on effect on your mental wellbeing is phenomenal. To feel fit and full of energy and on the way to feeling good inside and out again is something I thought was out of reach for me at 37, but it is not and I know and believe that now. I cannot recommend it highly enoug


Eimear :I started my first course with ForgetTheGym in January 2012 on a very cold and wintery night in Sandymount. Ill never forget Mary saying that if you ran that night you will always run. I dont mind saying now I really didnt believe her……… Read Eimears’s Full Story


Gillian :Just wanted to thank you so much for all the running support and encouragement you provided to me, and the other girls. I always looked forward to Wednesday running classes both for the friends I made and the way in which the class was structured by both yourself and all the other instructors, who made it so enjoyable


Sheena :I have just finished the 8 week course and absoutely loved it, so I have signed up to do another 8 weeks twice a week just to punish myself! Really loving it, its only girls in the and the instructors are lovely, no shouting, just get the work done and a bit of a laugh at the same time.


Jenny :Forget the Gym is simply the business! Especially for a girl like me who knows how good it feels after a good workout, but has a few lazybones that need to be motivated every now and again. It’s great to be part of a group, yet not be intimidated by the level of others within that group. Mary sees to that, giving a little push to those of us that need it, yet making the new runners confident about their own level, and ultimately ensuring that everyone improves week on week.


Grace :I LOVE Forget the Gym Classes – I’ve come so far from the first day of my first class, could barely run 2 minutes non-stop. Now, I’m about to start Improvers Level 2 and can’t wait (never thought I’d say that about running). The staff are great – knowledgeable and encouraging. Of my classes I’ve usually the one that comes in last, as I’m the slowest in the group. I’m never left behind or feel like I should be going faster. I’m encouraged to push myself, yet still go at my own pace.Mary is great, is always checking up on us, making sure we are ok, answering any questions we may have in and out of class, and is there to give you words of encouragement when you need it the most. The transformation I have gone through is incredible, not only physically but mentally and I’m so glad I found Forget the Gym.


Lisa :I can’t believe I just ran a half marathon!So I reached the minus zero to half marathon goal in almost exactly a year!Thanks a million to you and the rest if the guys. I’m so happy I did the beginners running with you this time last year. It may sound like an exaggeration but I can honestly say it changed my life for the better!! A permanent change I hope.


Agnieszka:I had a blast and thank you for showing me that running can be fun!


Leesa:I want to thank Mary / ForgetTheGym.ie for changing my attitude to exercise and the fact that I now like jogging in whatever type of weather 🙂


Emma :Having two children within two years as well as being a full-time working mum, I was beginning to feel that I’d never lose my post-baby wobbling middle or see my waist again! I’ve never liked gyms and seriously lacked the motivation to get out for walks on my own in the evenings. I started doing the classes on Sandymount Strand in summer 2010. Within a few weeks, I did notice that I was actually getting a bit toned in my wobbling middle region – and strangely enough, I was enjoying getting out for the exercise too! I’d never been an exercise enthusiast and always thought joggers were a strange species of human beings. However, to my surprise I started to notice that I liked the small bit of running that was incorporated into the classes.I’m September I signed up for Mary’s beginners’ running class, much to the amazement of everyone who knows me. Within 8 weeks, we were all running for 30 mins non-stop. No-one keeled over. In November, I signed up for the improvers’ running classes and ran my first 5K race in the Phoenix Park in December in just under 30 mins. If someone had told me 6 months previously that I would be doing that, I’d have laughed for days at the very idea.I couldn’t have done that without Mary and her encouragement. Her exercise programme is effective – the classes take place outdoors, so you don’t overheat like you would in a gym. The exercises challenge so many muscle groups that you’re getting a good workout for your body and building muscle strength without realising it. The running classes teach techniques to make you more effective as a runner. And now, I almost consider myself one!


Adele :I found ForgetTheGym.ie 4 months ago. I was at my heaviest weight I had ever been and probably my lowest point emotionally, igoogled personal trainers and up popped the website, it caught my attention straight away and I signed up.I have never looked back, Mary is just the best, she encourages you at the right time and pushes you without you realising it!!!! i never thought that i would be able to run for 30 minsnon stop but i amazed myself and did it on week 8, it wasn’t easy but with Marys encouragement and the rest of the girls in the classes helping you along i did it and the feeling of achievement is something i cannot describe. In dec 2010 i did my first 5 k race and i can’t believe i am saying this but i am looking forward to the next race!!!So thanks to Mary and forget the gym i am now enjoying running and i am just under 3 stone lighter and much much happier in life.


Marie :Beginners ‘Learn to Run’ Class and Forget the Gym has completely changed my relationship with exercise. When i first began i was terrified by the thought of running. For me, running downhill was an effort. I’ll never forget Day 1 telling Mary i could run for approx 3 minutes at a push and being mortified by this admission. I felt completely and totally accepted for my coach potato status and something happened, which in my life i never ever thought would, i ran a mile, and then i ran 2 miles and before i know it I was signed up for the 10miler in Phoenix Park and what’s even stranger was that i was looking forward to it.Exercise has become integral to my routine now, i feel as though i could burst if i don’t get outside at least 3 times a week. Honest to goodness, once you become accustomed to exercising outdoors,there is no turning back, ever. I have wasted ALOT of money on gym memberships and classes over the years and this is the only thing i have ever stuck at. I love the variety in the classes,you never know what to expect,it’s fun and i look forward to going to each and every one.


Mel :I have been enjoying “Forget The Gym” beach classes for a year now, and for someone who never ran before, I can now run a 5k with easy and actually enjoy it. Try it you will be delighted with the results.
Rachael :I’ve loved going to the Beach Fitness and the Running Classes this year. Getting out in the fresh air is so much better than the gym. I never thought I’d be able to do a half Marathon but with Mary’s help over the summer I did it:-) The classes are great, as there are never two the same, the routes change, and the topics change. I enjoyed learing about Chi Running and am trying to incorporate that technique into my runs.Another good thing about the classes is that you are doing it as part of a group, you can share your stories about how your training is going and find out how the other girls are getting on too. I was able to find a running partner for the long weekend runs and you also have a crowd to cheer on at races when you need that bit of extra support. Mary has wonderful experience and is great at encouraging you in your training and is always there to help with an injury or suggest something new. I would highly recommend classes to people at any level as you will always learn something new, get that little bit fitter and achieve your goal!


Katie :On numerous occasions I have wasted money on gym membership.The Sandymount Beach Class has changed my opinion of exercise – that it can be fun and that you can make the time to fit it into our busy lives. Mary is fantastic – always positive and encouraging and very motivational.The setting is also fantastic – I couldn’t recommend ‘Forget The Gym’ highly enough.


Joanne :I joined beach bootcamp in July 09 and for the first time in well over 10 years I managed not only to stick with regular exercise but also to actually enjoy it! This is absolutely down to the way Mary runs the classes. They are varied and that keeps it interesting and keeps you motivated. The fact that it’s not all about weight loss and more about getting fitter and feeling better makes it way more enjoyable than going to the gym. I was a complete beginner and it’s really great to see how much you can come on over a couple of months with a bit of effort.


Laura :I really enjoyed Beach Classes during the summer. I actually looked forward to exercise for once in my life!


Martina :Speaking as someone who detects gyms with a passion and isn’t too keen on exercise classes, I was surprised how much I enjoyed beach bootcamp and looked forward to each class regardless of the weather. The classes are an excellent mix of stretching, strengthening and cardio exercises. The intensity and combination of exercises change from week to week which prevents boredom from setting in. Each session is very informative – learning the correct way to do the various exercises and which parts of the body is should be targeting and the importance of good posture. Overall fitness is much improved – body has never been more flexible or stronger. An added bonus was discovering the joy of running.


Deirdre :I joined Beach Bootcamp in July this year and can honestly say it’s the only exercise programme I have stuck with in about 10 years. Mary is really great at motivating and encouraging people – even to the point where I did a five-mile fun run in October, something I never thought I would be able to do. There is great variety and fun in the classes, no one takes themselves too seriously but everyone gets stuck in. Mary has a great line on one of her t-shirts “I am a Work in Progress” and she really does make you believe that. I would highly recommend Beach Bootcamp to anyone who wants to get fit but doesn’t know where to start.”


Norma :Having decided to do Beach Fitness Classes in August, I never thought 2 months later I would be doing a competitive 5km. I always hated running and thought I could never do it. Now that Mary has given me the encouragement and the level of fitness I need I’m happy to go for a run rather than a walk and I feel great after it. Not to mention looking good too. I’ve toned up and back in size 12 jeans! You definitely look forward to each night and getting out in the fresh air beats a stuffy gym anytime.


Laura :I would recommend ForgetTheGym to anyone. The personable, supportive approach that Mary gives is something you don’t get anywhere else. She listens to what you want to achieve and then motivates and encourages you to get there, helping you all the way. The exercise itself is great too. The routine the bootcamp gives helps anyone stay on track. I never thought I would enjoy running or exercising on a regular basis. Now I’m motivated to go for runs myself and feel a great sense of satisfaction each time.


AnneMarie :As someone who had a fear of gym’s and exercise in general as the result of bad memories of gym class in a mixed school, I was delighted to find that Beach Bootcamp was for women only. There is a great atmosphere in the class and Mary makes sure to strike the right balance between pushing you hard without pushing you away! The exercises are varied and your fitness really builds up each week. Despite it being a group class Mary provides a lot of 1:1 attention and the nutritional advice and homework really help to keep you on track. Thanks to Beach Bootcamp I no longer have a fear of exercise and I’ve even started jogging on a regular basis. I would and have recommended Beach Bootcampto many of my friends and colleagues.


Mairead :‘Forget The Gym’ has totally changed my opinion and entire attitude towards exercise. Mary is extremely motivational and encouraging in her approach, so you never feel that you are out of your depth or holding up the class.Before I started Boot Camp I avoided exercise like the plague. I always hated PE in school and have never darkened the door of a gym in my life. I really wasn’t sure what to expect when I signed up for boot camp but after the first class I was hooked. There is a huge variety in the types of exercises that we do so you’re never bored or distracted.I have definitely noticed a huge difference in my fitness levels since joining and actually look forward to the classes, which is something that I never dreamed would happen.I would highly recommend ForgetTheGym.ie to everyone, but especially to those, who like me want to get fit but aren’t sure how to go about it.


Orna :I really enjoyed taking part in Bootcamp over the last few months. I loved being able to exercise out in the fresh air on the beach rather than being stuck inside a gym.There was great variety within the classes doing running, circuits and pilates so you were always doing something different. I felt my overall fitness improved greatly over the summer. Mary was great at motivating you even giving out homework if you wished each week which was great for making me do more exercise!


Sine :I never thought I’d say this but I really do look forward to each class!


Fiona :I look forward to the time I spend at bootcamp. It’s great fun and I find the hour passes very quickly and as the exercises are mixed up so much, it doesn’t feel too tough. I have become more aware of my posture and the exercises I need to do to work on specific areas and I can definitely feel it working after 5 classes.


Lavina :What I enjoy about beach bootcamp is the variety during the class, a mix of cardio and mat work makes the hour fly! Being outside is refreshing and relaxing, by the end of the class I feel healthy inside and outside. Working out with a small group in this way means I am more motivated to attend than I would be to go to a gym or exercise on my own.I feel committed to the class in a way I haven’t done with gyms, I would be reluctant to miss the class unless I was ill.Another huge positive for me is the attitude of the instructor,mary is so encouraging and reassuring, advising that everyone should work at their own pace yet still pushing everyone to challenge themselves!


Carmel :I would highly recommend this class to a friend / colleague. The location is really good. So much better than being in a stuffy gym with an impersonal atmosphere. Even though the class is challenging it is very enjoyable. The group is very friendly and the atmosphere is very good. I can honestly say that its all down to Mary. She creates a fun, encouraging, challenging and enjoyable atmosphere. She provides a very personal service seeing everyones strengths and weaknesses giving great advice / hints.


Louise :Each week we do something different in Bootcamp, it is all fun, there is nothing that is to difficult – With the variation in each class the hour flies in. Mary constantly reminds you that you can go at your own pace therefore it is suitable for everyone of all fitness levels. It is a great feeling to be outside in the fresh air exercising rather than been indoors in a gym.


Orlaigh :I have to say you feel much better having done an hour on the beach in the fresh air than being stuck in a gym. I enjoyed all the exercises really and its amazing how much you can do without any equipment. I liked the way the level of exercise increased every week so you were always being pushed a bit more but always at your own pace.For those of us who don’t enjoy the gym or who have been caught paying annual gym membership fees and only end up going for a month, its great value and an enjoyable way to get fit.


Jennifer :Mary makes it a lot of fun and changes the routine each week so you always try something new. It is great being outdoors as it is about the only time during the week I get some fresh air – it beats the gym any day of the week!The circuit training is a great way to get fit, get some fresh air and meet new people. You can take it at your pace, there is no pressure and it is a lot of fun. I always feel full of energy when we are finished and am rearing to go again!


Kerrie :I enjoy the Beach Circuit Training as it is something a bit different than your usual fitness class. It is so nice to leave work on a Thursday evening and head down to the beach. You can take the class at your own pace and with the encouragement of Mary the instructor and the others in the class you learn to push yourself harder each week. I have brought 3 new people along since I started the class, and they love coming now to! We encourage each other to go to class even if we are feeling tired after a long day in work.


Kam:I love the fact it feels quite personal as opposed to a class with 20 people in it. Also because Mary puts a bit of variety into it so we are constantly learning about the different ways our bodies work and how we can make them work better! I enjoy learning the various new exercises and seeing my fitness improve over the weeks.
Malin :Being new in Dublin, I especially enjoyed the social aspect of working out together in a group and it is a great opportunity to meet new people. Nice to be outdoors as well, especially after a long day in the office. The classes offer a great mix of cardio and strength/toning and can be tailor-made to the participants.

More Reviews of Chiruning and other Running Workshops

Mandy : Loved the 10K workshop. You gave me confidence in myself and plenty of tips for everything from race prep and the motivation to keep going, to lining up at the start line for my very first race. I am now looking forward to race day and I would recommend the workshop to anyone. Thank you!!!


Sarah : With little race experience, race day seemed pretty daunting. The workshop helped me reflect and identify what has worked well for me on the days that I run in relation to clothing, nutrition and water intake. I am now confident that I can keep to a routine that works for me and not get caught up in what everyone else is doing! With the race coming up, I was getting worried that my training plan was becoming a bit all over the place and I wouldn’t reach my endurance goals in time. The workshop gave me a really clear framework to draw up an achievable plan that mixes weekly speed and endurance goals and recovery runs. The main thing is that this plan now works around my work and other sport commitments. I’m making progress again instead of excuses.


Patrick : A combination of several things made for a great marathon experience, well within my limits, comfortable, extremely enjoyable and fond memories. Your tips were a major help…. Read Pat’s Full Story
Moya :Having struggled with running technique for a while it was fantastic to get some relevent and useful training from the ChiRunning workshop. Mary made it fun for all and so far so good !
Tim: I highly recommend the Half Day ChiRunning course to anyone at any level of running. I have been plagued by injuries in the last six months as I work towards my maiden marathon. Learning about ChiRunning has helped me understand what I am doing wrong. After one morning I picked up enough tips to make subtle changes and am thoroughly looking forward to years of injury free running to come. On my first proper run out since the course, I found that I am already more comfortable and after finishing felt the best I have done in ages. I am a convert.


Aisling: Thanks for a very informative workshop. I enjoyed it immensely. The structure of it was great in that once you went through the theory, you got a chance to put it into practice immediately. I will certainly be recommending you to my clients who are runners. (Neuromuscular Therapist)


Suzanne : “This course set me well on the path to fitness and i would recommend it to any woman wanting to get her energy back. I really enjoyed the small group, the very informative talks and good mix of nutrition advice and exercise.”


Edel :“I couldn’t fault the course. I enjoyed the good mix of nutrition, exercise and meditation. Since joining the course i have found a new love for fitness – it has given me the incentive to change my lifestyle for the better.”


Susan : “I really liked the nutrition segments and the variety of the classes. I can now confidently read food labels and am able to make healthier choices for myself and my family.”
Corporate Wellbeing, Caroline : “As the organiser of the KARE staff training day, I can say that feedback says Revive Fitness were an excellent choice for our staff. Mary provided excellently structured workshops with sound, practical advice – this suited our staff and the results were hugely positive. I would recommend ForgetTheGym to any organisation for a person centred service to staff in the area of health and well being. We found that the personalised service was refreshing and exciting as when we started planning for the day we found that many of the ‘staff health and well being’ packages were very business oriented or that nutritionists were too clinical. Mary provided a fun, interactive approach and it went down a storm. Many thanks for a job well done!.”


Corporate Workshop :“Mary gave an interesting and different approach to healthy options that were fun and accessible. To be honest I wasn’t looking forward to the workshop as I thought it was going to be a lecture, but it was far from it and I really learned something about myself and the food choices I need to make”


Julie, Volunteer: Downs Syndrome Dublin : “Mary from ForgetTheGym ran a workshop on Healthy Living and Nutrition for the Down Syndrome Young Adults club. The evening was a great success, it was fun and interactive and pitched at the right level. Clearly a lot of research had gone into creating a session that was relevant and lively. Mary was able to adapt the session as she went along to respond to the questions and interests of the group. The young adults all benefited from the evening and had a lot of fun at the same time!”

More Reviews for Marathon Coaching


Sinead :A marathon you say? How far is that? This was me in January 2011. I had no concept of how far a marathon was, I knew it was far and could take hours to finish but sure only really fit and (crazy) fast people do them, right! Read Sinead’s Full Story


Emma : Thanks a million, Mary, for all the support, encouragement and guidance that has got me through an unbelieveable TWO marathons. I never would have learnt that I could run for more than a rather close bus without keeling over completely. I don’t know how you manage it but you have coached me and so many others to embrace and drive our own fitness and enjoyment of exercise so much. I know that I wouldn’t have done than on my own and I’m pretty sure that’s the case for most of the others!


Aoife:For anyone who meets me now, or has met me since 2009, they know a very different version of me than the original Aoife. I find it hard sometimes to remember the old me. Read Aoifes’s Full Story


Denise :2 marathons down and thinking of a third. How did I get there? All I had wanted was to be able to run for a bus and not loose a lung! Read Denise’s Full Story


David :Anybody thinking of doing the marathon I’d definitely recommend the Marathon Training workshops. I did it last year and was the best thing I did since starting to run early last year. Mary’s help and experience gave me the confidence I needed for the marathon and I’m currently training for marathon Number 3 all thanks to the advice and support I received. Best of luck to all the students I know you’ll be in good hands and on the way to that 26.2mile dream!!
Dublin Marathon 2012 :I just wanted to say thank you once again. If it were not for your amazing support, encouragement and advice through the last few months, I would definitely not have started, never mind, finished the marathon!


Mary :2 years ago I began Beginners Running Class with ForgettheGym. 18 months later I ran a marathon and all thanks to Mary and ForgetTheGym. Read Mary’s Full Story


Clare :I just wanted to say thank you so much for your amazing support and encouragement over the past few months!!Genuinely I wouldnt have even signed up for the marathon let alone achieved (what then became) my goal of running it nonstop without you.Its hard to believe that a year a half ago I was celebrating my first nonstop 8k and thought that was the most I could ever achieve.But thanks to you and the classes and training programmes Ive done something I never thought possible.It was also great to meet the other girls too and to have ran the marathon together. It is something Ill never forget!Thank you, Thank you, Thank you.


Nuala :I started going to ForgetTheGym in Sept 2011, able to run about 5k and determined to finally get fit. I love the classes, always plenty of variety, good company and we are always encouraged to push ourselves a little bit more. When I was talking to my brother about finally getting fit he suggested I set a target of a marathon. ( I think he thought i was a lot fitter than I was…. ).I told Mary about my plan in December and she sent me on a training plan, which was a lot easier to figure out than the one my brother had sent on. Initially the training was tough but manageable. As the mileage increased I began to wonder if it was such a good idea. The encouragement, emails and texts really kept me going- Mary and Lorraine gave such good advice all the way through!On the day itself the nerves set in as i was surrounded by tanned athletic french people at the start line! But once we got going it felt great- we ran down the Champs Elysees through Place de la Concorde and onto the streets of Paris- it was beautiful! There were loads of people out cheering us on and bands playing music every 5k it seemed like! I definitely felt like stopping as the mileage got higher but I’d been warned by Mary that would happen so i was prepared. The finish line was just in front of the Arc de Triomphe- beautiful- with loads of people roaring on the sidelines. It was such a rush to turn the corner and see the end in sight- I wont forget it in a hurry! Thanks so much for all your help


Martina :Prior to joining beach bootcamp in April, I always believed that I wasn’t built for running and couldn’t run any longer than five minutes before collapsing in heap. Mary gave me the belief and encouragement that just maybe I can run if I took things slow and adopted a walk/run approach and gradually increase length of run and decrease walking breaks. To my surprise, I found that I can run and determined to see how far I could progress with the whole running lark and decided to target the addias race series (5, 10, 13.1 miles) in the Phoenix park.. After completing the 10 mile race in the Phoenix park in an unbelievable time, I knew running the extra 3.1 miles for the half marathon wasn’t enough of a challenge yet the marathon distance was pretty daunting.Participating in the Dublin City Marathon has always been an impossible life long dream but perhaps now a possibility.I’ve now achieved the impossible. Running and finishing the marathon was an awesome experience. Strange as it sounds, I enjoyed every single second of it and never once contemplated quitting. All the time consuming months of training were most definitely worth it and has been a life changing experience that will be extremely hard to beat. Running has improved my health and confidence. I’m now starting to wonder what else I can do that I think I can’t. This has given me the confidence to finally tackle my fear of water and learn to swim. As regards the running, it’s an integral part of a healthier, leaner me. All of this wouldn’t have been possible without Mary’s encouragement and advice. Thanks Mary you’ve literally changed my life for the better.


Suzanne :I would recommend ‘Forget The Gym’ personal training service to the busy woman who is looking for sensible and realistic exercise and training advice that has visible long lasting results. My friends are in awe at how much I have achieved in a short space of time and my response is as follows, If I can do it, so can you!I will never forget the moment I crossed the finish line in Dublin City Marathon. I was euphoric and it took about a week for me to fully acknowledge the fact that I had achieved what only ten months earlier I never dreamed of being capable of doing. 26.2 miles. That feeling of achievement has yet to be beaten.I honestly doubt I would have even contemplated this feat had it not been for my trainer Mary Jennings who was the inspiration and motivation that got me through the months of training and ultimately over that finish line 26.2 miles later.It was in 2007 that I started dabbling in the whole running thing. I had often seen people out running and admired their commitment and determination as they pounded the pavements in all sorts of weather. I am not a gym fan and I love the outdoors so this seemed like the solution as I really wanted to start feeling fitter.I walked/jogged the 2007 womens mini marathon for charity and it was shortly after that I signed up with Revive Fitness for a training programme for the Adidas 5 mile and 10 mile runs in the Phoenix Park. When I completed the 10 mile race in the Phoenix Park I knew I wanted to do a half marathon. I spoke to Mary who talked me through the next stage of the training programme. The training was tailored by Mary on a weekly basis around my timetable and it resulted in me finishing the Dublin Half Marathon that September in 2hr15min. I was hooked. I had never felt so good in my head and body and I was always full of energy.The next thing I knew we were talking about a marathon. I remember laughing about it but as I was feeling confident after the half marathon I decided to try continue with the training programme with Mary. I would send Mary my training log every Sunday for the previous week and she would send me feedback and the plan for the week. As I as increasing my mileage each week, my nutritional needs changed but any questions I had, Mary had the answer. As the weeks turned into months my training progressed steadily.Of course in the weeks leading up to the marathon I went through bouts of nerves, but Mary was on the end of the phone to answer any of my questions.Running is now integral to my life and apart from keeping fit, sane and in shape, I have met some great people as a result of it. Thanks Mary for inspiring me to join the world of recreational runners!

More Reviews of Online Training and Private Coaching


Stephanie :When my seasoned runner brother laid down a challenge to the rest of family to run the 10k in the Phoenix Park with him in April I wasn’t sure where to start. Realising I needed all the help I could get, I got in touch with Mary and signed up for the online coaching. Having the weekly training programme and accountability was such a help. Even when it was difficult to fit in a run, knowing I had to give Mary feedback at the end of the week motivated me to make it happen.
It was also very reassuring to be able to ask Mary what to do about the aches and pains along the way. Three weeks before the 10k I got shingles and had a sore foot that meant I was unable to train for at least 8 days before the run but Mary reassured me that my fitness would not disappear overnight and that I could still do it. Finally the day came and though even at the starting line I doubted I could do it, all the hard work and Marys confidence in my ability pushed me through and I managed to jog it all in 1 hour 11 minutes and 1 second. It gave me a great sense of achievement and I am very grateful to Mary for her invaluable help.


Emma :I’m still amazed that I can run for 2 hours, seeing as I couldn’t run 2 mins last September.Thanks for all your fabulous support and the training programme and feedback you gave me along the way.There’s no way that I would have completed today’s half marathon in the time I did without it.I think it’s given me new confidence at work too. Thanks for making me feel it was possible and then achieve it
Deirdre :Having never run before in my life, I embarked on Mary’s 8 week “Learn to Run” course last August. I had had our third baby in April, and really felt overweight and “out of body”, as I was so out of condition.I was truly delighted and amazed at how quickly I built up to feeling like a “proper runner” and I absolutely loved the challenge of trying to improve on what I had achieved the previous week. I was able to run non-stop for 30 minutes by the end of the 8 weeks – incredible!The benefits are multiple – making the effort to go out for 30/40 minutes, in all weather provides “head space” and fresh air, as well as the wonderful exercise, and the sense of doing something that is for me… I did my first 5km “race” (using the term lightly in my case!) in the Phoenix park in December and I am now planning to build up to 10km by April and hopefully complete a 10km race! What really worked for me was the structure provided by Mary, the detailed plan for each week and having to provide my feedback each week was the motivation I needed, there is no way I would have done it alone. Mary’s obvious expertise and wonderful encouragement has been, and will continue to be for me, invaluable. I can’t recommend her highly enough to anyone who has ever had even the vague thought that they would like to run, but think they never could…..if I can do it, anyone can!


Frances :I Still cant believe I did the marathon!I will never forget running the marathon and I can’t believe I enjoyed every minute of it and was on a high for days afterwards. But I know that without the encouragement, advice and support from Mary, I would never have achieved my goal. She played a huge part in it, by keeping me focused and alway being available to answer my queries. She was truly inspirational, and I would recommend her training programmes and classes to anyone who wants to get out and run and enjoy the experience.I can’t recommend Forgetthegym.ie enough to anyone who wants to take up running. From being a person who never did sports in school and joined gyms but never went, I have become addicted to running afer meeting Mary Jennings and starting online training with her weekly programmes. In 2009 I got as far as a half marathon and when I tentatively mentioned to Mary that I would like to attempt the 2010 Dublin marathon she was very encouraging and gave me the confidence to achieve my goal, through weekly training plans, and a detailed plan for the 16 weeks prior to the marathon, which included running classes on the beach where I met others who were also preparing for races and this was an enormous benefit.


Maura :I loved the challenges that Mary set out each week. At times they were difficult and it was hard to see progress but each week was challenging and it was not until I looked back over the weeks that I really realised how much progress I really had made. I think it is a great service, a really good motivational tool !!! ”


Dorothy :“Considering when I started I could barely walk after a c- section, the thought of running a half marathon was beyond me! I would definitely recommend to friends. Primarily to people who are scared of running/postnatal, etc. ”


Philippa :”I never believed I could run before for any length of time and now I realise that by building slowly towards my goal, it is achievable! Being emailed the plan at the start of the week motivated me to follow it as I had to update my training log with my progress each session.I would definitely recommend the service to a friend. Mary is very encouraging and really makes you feel you can do it! ”


Frances :”Thanks for all your support and encouragement for the race. I really enjoyed it and was very happy with my time. I would definitely recommend Online Training to a friend, it was just what I needed to get me out and to keep me motivated.I felt your comments were always very encouraging but also you did not take any excuses for weather etc. and that would have been one of my weaknesses- looking for a reason not to go out. I found the pace of the training programme suited me as I am often inclined to rush things and to try and do too much to soon so you kept me very focussed but also I tried to do things in moderation for a change- even during the race- and it paid off !! ”


Clare:”I enjoyed getting a new programme every week and that it was varied, some of the half marathon training programmes I had seen were based on mileage and were a bit off-putting as they appeared to be more for the accomplished runner. ForgetTheGym online training programme was great because it was personal service which gave feedback, it built up the fitness slowly and gave me the confidence to keep going every week. You were extremely encouraging also!Its definitely a better way of getting fit than a gym, being out in the fresh air is great for the body and mind – even when it was snowing in January, I actually looked forward to doing the training! ” (online from Carlow)


Mary :”As a complete beginner, I really enjoyed the programme and the introduction to running. I thought the customised training programme was great as it took account of my progress and always felt realistic and achievable.


Richard :”I would definitely recommend ForgetTheGym to friends (and have done) as it offers a way for anyone to train with whatever time and level of experience they have. Setting targets was a key part of the program, but they are your own targets, which makes them an even better motivator.It was great to have a way of training that fitted around my schedule. The schedule could be planned to fit in with work, giving me something to look forward to at the end of each day.


Suzanne :”My first big achievement with ForgetTheGym.ie was to jog the women’s mini-marathon. I did it and it felt brilliant!Having a weekly plan made it easier to stick to and I ended up doing not only the mini marathon, but the entire Adidas Race Series leading up to an including the Dublin Half Marathon !! (a 5 mile and a 10 mile run with a few 5k races thrown in for good measure!). When I look at what I have achieved in 6 months I am very proud of myself!Mary supported me in all my accomplishments and were always on hand to advise me on matters such nutrition, stretching and injury prevention. I am now aiming for the Dublin Marathon 2008 with the help of Forget The Gym.”
Jeanne:Since working with Mary at ForgetTheGym.ie, Ive learned to enjoy exercise rather than viewing it a chore! I’m getting better at running and am more confident and in the process ive lost a few pounds and toned up! Mary is very encouraging so I actually kept motivated and learned to enjoy running rather than always focusing on the pounds I lost.Unlike other personal training services and gyms, its not solely focused on weight results. It’s a very positive approach, and encourages people to actually enjoy exercise. I think this is a much more sustainable approach to exercise! I like the way the training is outdoors-its really lovely and so much nicer than a gym. Also the training over the internet works really well for someone that doesn’t have much time to meet in person. Mary always gave constructive feedback and ths kept me going when I was feeling a little demotivated!


Aisling :I would recommend ‘Forget The Gym’ for two main reasons.Firstly, the type of exercise ‘Forget The Gym’ promotes: getting up & outdoors, it really is a breath of fresh air.Secondly, the very personable service and commitment you get from Mary. I enjoyed the personal contact and motivation that you would never get from an anonymous gym. Goals are changed and updated and you can really see progress.
Eadaoin :Mary is inspirational in her attitude to training and fitness: she is motivating, challenging, so easy to get on with, very professional and a lot of fun! There was no strict diet or weighing or measuring my thighs, all the stuff that used to drive me crazy and start me obsessing.Through my training and work with Mary I am learning to eat better and listen to my body. I am now seeing changes in my body, feeling stronger, fitter, more toned and I am losing weight and I love running!!!!!I have achieved things I never ever thought possible a couple of months ago. I have completed a 5km, an 8km and a 10km race and am on my way to do a Triathlon, a 10 mile and a half marathon and hopefully a marathon!!!! None of this would be possible without Mary. She has helped me to believe I can do it, given me fantastic training plans and supported me all the way checking in with me even outside my sessions with her.I will never forget the feeling of finishing my first 8km race in a time that I never thought possible: I felt amazing!!!!! I have met some other wonderful women through Revive Fitness/Forget The Gym and now we train together.


Deirdre :Working With Revive Fitness/ Forget The Gym prepared me physicially (and mentally) for my goal – my first Triathlon. It also kept me motivated and gave me the confidence to know I could complete it – I registed for the event after my first training session with Revive Fitness’s PT, Mary and prior to that, I didnt think I had enough training time to do it.I would recommend ‘Forget The Gym’ as it helps people to achieve their goals in a realistic way (it prepares the mind as well as the body). Also it connects members with other members who live near each other to allow them run together.


Joanne :“The thing that stands out about Mary at ForgetTheGym is her down-to-earth, but highly supportive approach to the training, occasionally checking in on you personally to see how you’re getting on. The One-2-One training sessions were a brilliant source of support but also, an opportunity to actually witness my own progress myself, a place to see that my ability more often than not exceeded what I thought!


Siobhan :”As my first introduction to Personal Training I have to commend Mary for her down to earth yet professional approach. It can be very daunting searching for a Personal Trainer to help you achieve what seems like an impossible goal but Mary put my mind at ease within the first five minutes of meeting her. The 8 week Mini Marathon training plan was very achievable with Mary’s guidance and support. It was very reassuring to know that she was a quick text or email away if I had any problems or questions. I would without a doubt recommend this mini-marathon training plan for any woman who wants to prove to herself and everyone else that she can jog for more than a few minutes without collapsing!!!”


Sandra:“I worked with Mary over six sessions and I found it to be most beneficial. A female in my late twenties, I had spent most of my professional life in a career that involved extensive travel and working late nights. My life had become filled with high stress, poor diet and bouts of frenetic exercise, followed by great lulls. Facing my thirties straight in the eye, I decided I wanted to do something about my lifestyle, not just my love handles!Mary’s approach made me realise the importance of looking at long term lifestyle patterns and how small changes can make a huge difference. Education is key and Mary was always on hand with tips and information. The service was never judgemental and even slip-ups in diet and exercise were greeted as part of the journey.My life has changed for the better – my skin and hair look much better, I am feeling more positive with much lower stress levels and buckets more energy. Most of all I am really pleased that my new healthy lifestyle should serve me well long into the future.Thank you Mary !A truly life-changing experience!”


Susan and Marie (Mother and Daughter) :”My mum and I initially started off doing a fitness class with Mary and because she was so encouraging and outgoing we decided to enrol on the on-line mini-marathon training programme. Neither of us were particularly fit to say the least, we weren’t in the habit of doing regular exercise at all. The thought of going out for a 40 minute jog put the fear of God in us! With Mary’s step by step programme it wasn’t long before we were well on the way. Now just 6 weeks later, we’re just after jogging the mini-marathon! I can’t describe how good that made us feel! The programme completely exceeded our expectations.Before we began, Mary warned us that we would catch the fitness bug….we definitely have!! Thanks a mil Mary!!!”


Aoife:“I started running last year so I knew I would be able to complete the distance of the mini-marathon. However, I didn’t know how to improve my pace. Mary put together a programme that focused on improving speed. I managed to take 1 minute off each kilometre! I loved getting my programme each week and felt great filling in my log and watching myself improve. I feel fantastic and get loads of compliments. If I can do it, anybody can!” (Online from Kilkenny)


Emer :“I’d be delighted to recommend the online training programme to anyone, I found it so helpful, encouraging and very realistic, considering I was totally new to jogging. What I liked most was the sense of achievement in completing the programme each week and Mary’s feedback really helped me to keep it up, which was always my downfall with any other efforts at getting fit. I really appreciate the time taken to make sure I was doing well and look forward to doing more programmes in the future.” (online from Wexford)


Marie :“Well done Mary for having prepared such a professional program while keeping it fun. I will absolutely be recommending it to my friends and family”. (online from Amsterdam)
Susan :”Within a week of starting the Mini Marathon programme I had more energy. My body shape has changed and I get compliments now all the time. I enjoy my food and still have all my treats but the exercise elements of the programme are reaping the benefits. Thank you Mary for reintroducing me to exercise and for teaching me simple healthy ways to change my bad food habits.”


Janine :“Having the programme gave me a focus which I wouldn’t have had on my own. Its a great way to train and really handy getting it all via internet. I found the weekly feedback very encouraging and it really helped to keep me going. The sense of achievement as I progressed was amazing!”

More Reviews of Irish Times Get Running Programme

Sue : Get Running I just want to say a huge, massive THANKYOU! Forget The Gym and the Irish Times have changed my life. I started the programme and finished it that in its self is an achievement! I ran the St.Annes park run this morning and did it in exactly 34 mins. To think I nearly didn’t go. So again Thank You! Anything really is possible with the right attitude and good guidance, your videos and articles provided both for me. I hope to continue doing the park runs and improve my times.


Emma : I’m loving it…. I drop the kids to school and meet up with 1 or 2 of the mums who are doing the programme with me. I normally decide our route and pace. Every time is the same, I start off with best intentions and the first 1k is my biggest battle…. I’m jogging along and my head is saying ‘stop just stop, make an excuse, they’re in front of you, they won’t know… just stop for a minute then you can catch up… just stop, STOP, STOP!!!’ I ignore the negativity that is my mind and I keep pushing, the last 1k is the same and I don’t let myself stop. I run and run and run and you know what I’m down 2 stone since the programme started and i’m gonna loose the next two by running the 10k. Thank you Mary and Irish Times Running. Thanks so much to you Mary and to the Irish Times without whom this would never have happened. I’ve tried running for years. I loved the thought of just throwing on my runners and going but failed at each attempt.


Ann : I’m 63 and haven’t run for years but have done all three sessions for the first three weeks reasonably comfortably and am confident I’ll be able for week 4. Delighted to be doing the programme though and I feel really good after each session. It’s a good idea to be only giving us one week’s programme at a go.


Tricia : I started in February and just completed week 8 of the Beginners Programme last week. I could barely do the 1 minute run on Day 1 and now I can run over 30 mins non-stop (slowly) but non-stop. Love this program!


Dee  : Cant believe I managed to do a 5K!! All thanks to the programme – delighted.


Brian : Did the 5k in Malahide today. It was a great feeling and all the weekly training paid off. Thanks to Mary and the Irish Times. As they said this morning, the trick now is to ‘Stay Running’ as opposed to ‘Get Running’. 


Margaret  : Really wish I could have been there but planning my first 5k shortly. Huge thanks to the Irish Times, and to Mary (a wonderful ambassador of keeping the message simple and attainable!). 


Gabrielle  : Can’t believe that I did a 5k run. Thanks for a great programme.


Mairead  : Loving the running, can’t wait for my next outing, everyone is saying running is addictive, and I finally think I understand why!


Jenny : Just back from my mid week run in the LASHING rain! And it was great.. hard to get out the door at first but with 3 small kids in the house, mornings are best for me with kids in school/preschool so determined to get it done. But I have to say there really is something GREAT about running in the rain (with the thoughts of a hot hot shower afterwards!). A running friend of mine had said there was something ‘cleansing’ about running in the rain.. always thought she was a bit nuts but kinda understand where she was coming from now . Really enjoying the programme and as a person who NEVER ran in the past, I’m delighted with my progress. Thanks to all involved! 


Mairead : “I’m in my early 50s, haven’t run since I was at school (and even then, I wasn’t much of a runner, except for the odd bus), and I have been following the course since its inception on January 13th. Although I’m Irish (from Dublin), I live in San Diego, so my runs are usually in fairly balmy weather, which is always helpful and means I don’t have the excuse of not wanting to run in the rain and wind. I can’t say that I can run for 3 or 4 minutes concurrently yet, but I’m getting there at my own pace. Mostly, I’m quite surprised and delighted that I’m actually doing it in the first place, and look forward to my next run. So thank you for getting this lazybones off the sofa and out walking/running with such a simple, comprehensive and beautifully presented programme!”


Lorraine  “Just dropping a line to let you know that my first week is over and I am loving it!! My children are loving it too!! My husband was working away all week so I was home alone with three small kids but I wasn’t going to let that stop me! As I couldn’t leave the house I decided to do my walk/run inside the house. our house is a small house but I went from the front door to the back door over and over again!! My children used run after me for some of it and sometimes even ran after me with their buggies thinking it was great fun chasing their mammy with their dollies! When they got tired they would sit on the bottom of the stairs until they were ready to start running again!


Eoin : Hi Mary, just wanted to say a big thank you for your terrific “get running” course with the Irish Times. I’m sure everyone who completed the course has their own story but this is ours. My wife and I decided to try it out with our 18 year old son who has autism. We were looking for a project to do with him after Christmas to get him out and fit. We both used to run – but more than 25 years ago. We followed the programme faithfully each week through rain hail and storms.  We started a week behind and eventually did our last 30 minutes this week-end. We couldn’t do a parkrun on Saturday as my wife came off nights on Saturday morning and we live in Galway. Instead we did our 30 minutes in the MSBAC Patricks Run on Sunday and we all completed it in 31:34 nett finishing together !!  Feilim is still on a high after succeeding at something he had no idea about 8 weeks ago. We were really chuffed to have finished and now have the “bug” including Feilim who has really taken to it well.  We plan to stick to the 5k plan and then ramp up to 10 k in a few weeks when the next course is published.  Apart from the videos and gradual training plan I think one of the secrets of the success for us has been not knowing what the following weeks programme will be and just concentrating on that weeks tasks !  Once again many thanks for a great idea and best of luck with your running group.


Lynn  : Thanks so much to you Mary. I know I couldn’t have done it without your weekly videos and tips. I did it in Westport this morning in around 37 mins. Still on a high!

 


Julie : I started running with you with the Irish Times in January and have done 2 5k’s and am training for the 10k. Was in Spain last week and went out running 3 times in the sun and felt so great it was unbelievable! My boyfriend couldn’t get over it. I think I am a runner now. I could not recommend your programme highly enough. I really love doing it and feel so much better. If people only realised how good they could feel! Thanks again.


Lynn  : Thanks so much to you Mary. I know I couldn’t have done it without your weekly videos and tips. I did it in Westport this morning in around 37 mins. Still on a high!


Dee  : Delighted to report that I ran my 1st ever 10k race yesterday in 1 hour 6 seconds. For a 49 year old woman, who took up running for the first after Christmas, I am feeling very proud of myself! I am also very grateful to the Irish Times for coming up with this great programme.


Paula  : I have really enjoyed this running program, I had NEVER run before and found the first 8 week program amazing. I live in rural Italy and had to laugh the other week when Mary brought up the idea of hills…I had to deal with them from day one!!! we live at 450m , up down all around! Thank you Irish Times and Mary.

 

 

 

Locations

Our classes take place outdoors at the following locations across Dublin:

Sandymount, Dublin
Clontarf, Dublin

Our workshops take place at the Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, beside the Bord Gais Energy Theatre in Dublin Docklands.

Chirunning events take place outdoors in local parks or at your club or venue.

Popular Blogs

Upcoming Events

Facebook